Keep Dreaming On (what you could do in your 20s that you’ll regret not doing)

In my life, I must admit I have lots of regrets, although I keep saying that one should go on chasing his/her own dreams, I usually end up doing what belongs in my confort zone. When I was 5, I wanted to grow up to be a flight attendant, because I believed it would be incredibly fascinating to spend your life flying, each day in a different part of the world. How innocent was I.

Time passed, and I dreamt to be a ballerina, and started to push my mom to let me go to ballet class. It never happened. At the age of 9, instead, I started taking piano lessons. After a year I was made to give up since I had to focus on my study.

In real life, you can’t be a singer, or a ballerina, or a piano player, or an actress, because in real life people study and go to university and get a good job and set up a family“, I was told all the time.

With that pressure I started Bocconi University, the best Business School in Italy, probably to become a manager and work in a big company. Don’t get me wrong, it wouldn’t be that bad, I’d get the quiet real life I was used to imagining for the adult me.

But.

There’s always a “but” somewhere, although it is said that history is not made of but and ifs.

In a very hidden corner of my mind, I’ve always sheltered a dream, evolved from my childish visions. I’ll see what’s going to happen now in a couple of years, but once, for one time only, I don’t want to have regrets in chasing it. 

When you’re 20-something, it is the best time of your life to go and do foolish things, make mistakes and learn from life. I’m working hard to save money – yeah, you’re also supposed to rely on yourself, to work part-time alongside your studies to have some savings to be used when you decide to follow your heart. Going this way doesn’t mean you don’t need to do sacrifices. 

But still, your 20s are the best age to exit your confort zone, as you have time to confront yourself and decide what you want it to be your place in life. You’ll have time to recover and learn from the big mistakes you’ll be making. You’ll have time to fully cheer for your success, coming from your hard work.

So, yeah, I just wanted to share this with you, to never stop fighting even when the people around you thing you’re silly, childish and selfish.

I may be silly to have childish dreams at my age, but I am blessed to be able to do so, since dreams fuel your life.

EJL

One thought on “Keep Dreaming On (what you could do in your 20s that you’ll regret not doing)”

Leave a comment